Feliz Día de Madres (Happy Mother’s Day)

Feliz Día de Madres

Happy Mother’s Day to the Best Mommy in the World. Thank God for Skype!🙂

I was simply just to tired yesterday to write a long blog post related to Mother’s Day,  thinking it would appear somewhat cliche.  I mentioned my mommy in an earlier blog post and there simply are not enough words to describe how awesome she is and how much I love her.  My mother provided the model framework that has made me and my sisters the great mothers we have become today.  All of our children adore and respect us, because (like our mother) we provided them with the appropriate amount of unwavering support, a kick in the pants when required, but moreover our unquestionable love.  I am so proud of my mother and how she raised us and the values she and my father instilled in all of their children.  But, since today is a time to celebrate Mother’s Day my Daddy will have to wait as I tip my hat to my mother and thank God that I was blessed to grow-up under her love, eternal care and wisdom.

So many of our friends would call her “Mom” and tell us how fortunate we were to have a mother like her.  I used to get jealous as a child when other kids would call her that thinking she’s NOT your mom.  Now, as I have matured and can reflect upon those feelings, I sometimes feel ashamed for being so selfish.  I myself am a mother and my daughter’s friends will sometimes call me mom.  She never has told me she resented it however, she never hesitate to let people know that she is my Princess Little Mermaid and an only child.  Currently, I have come to understand why our fiends expressed those loving sentiments toward our mom.  Her care and love toward children has always spilled over into whatever arena she would find herself with us (e.g., Girl Scouts, Cheer-leading, Track, Football, Basketball, Gymnastics, etc…) or without us when teaching the children in her classrooms.  In the above picture she in my Daddy are applauding my sister Veronica as she is being sworn in as a member of the Akron Public School board.  They’re always there when you need ’em.

I remember when my mom went back to college and was taking classes with my sister and I at the University of Akron.  I was so overwhelmed by her commitment to academic excellence and how she excelled (more than I) grade-wise in here academic courses.  My Mom has served as an inspiration to me in returning back to work on my Ph.D. as an adult learner.  Recently, my mother has been forced to master more internet competencies since my undertaking of a study abroad experience here in Chile. She has learned to use Skype with growing confidence and I have to be careful not to login accidentally when I am  trying to work.  That is because, in very short order, I will hear the familiar chimes of Skype indicating she is calling me because she saw my Skype symbol said I was available for chatting. lol :)  But, I don’t mind one bit and will stop whatever I am doing to make time to talk to my Mommy.  So Happy Mother’s Day to anyone who has served as a mom to your own children or someone else’s kids.  It is simultaneously one of the bests and most challenging jobs in the world, made special by the smiles and joy you place on the faces of those you touch and who have come to depend on you for emotional support and encouragement.

It's my special day and I'm doing laundry... can you say irony?

It’s my special day and I’m doing laundry… can you say irony?

 My mother’s day was spent in Chile doing dirty laundry (how “motherisk”).  But I did get to Skype with both my mom and daughter so it wasn’t a total bust.

DSC02600

Found these awesome soccer team World Cup fan paraphernalia at the grocery store on last Saturday.  I was loving those bright colors and the fact that the countries are spelled in their own language (Brasil v. Brazil and España v. Spain).  It would have been hard to find these back in Athens, GA at the grocery store.  Can you say?  New Zumba gear!! lol🙂

Mother's Day 2014

Me as a very young mother with my beautiful Princess Little Mermaid.  I so love that little girl (and now young woman and Attorney). #Proudmommy #gratefulmom

One thought on “Feliz Día de Madres (Happy Mother’s Day)

  1. holaaaa! estoy haciendo una encuesta! no sé si te dejé una alguna vez jejeje. Esta es sobre contenidos en redes sociales, contenidos artísticos más específicamente n.n podrias respondermela? es para mi tesis, es muy muy importante! please. Aqui está el link (los ptos estan entre parntesis para que la page no me lea el msje como spam) www(.)survio(.)com/survey/d/K3K6R5U1F5A7T6I2P

Leave a Reply

