Plátano (Barraganete) and other South American Fruit

Plátano(Barraganete) and other South American Fruit

Saw these in the store today and was thinking, ¨Wow! Is that a giant banana?¨ Thus began my journey to lern about the plátano versus banana.

How It´s Made Video (Plátano Chips)

I saw the above fruit in the grocery story today and noticed that it was very different from the bananas I was used to seeing.  First off, it was larger than a banana and seemed to have a very dense and harder outer skin such that it did not seem it could be easily peeled by hand.  Upon my return home, I do my normal Google search and find out that the Plátano (Barraganete) is in the same family as the banana but is not meant to be eaten raw.  I also learned that the word Plátano has its origins in the African language and it had evolved from Greek, through Spanish to be called a banana.  Plátano or Plaintains are more common to Latin American and Carribean cultures and are typically never eaten uncooked.  Below is a video I found aobut how the fruit is made as a tasty chip.

My favorite Campesino had Cherries today!!

It so cool how here in Talca, Maule Chile, the farmers can sell their products out on the street. One man sells his items right by the Superbodega which would likely never happen in North America.  My favorite Campensino who always seems to have great fruits and vegetables at a very low price, today had strawberries and cherries. I thought about how much my mommy loves cherries (one of her favorite fruits) so I purchased some this eveing.  I later called her to let her know I purchased them on her behalf and would be posting the picture of them on my blog for her viewing. 🙂

There is a  Verduria (a small vegetable store) and Futeria (little fruit store) right in my neighborhood and a number of other small stores like a paneria (bread story).  They all remind me of the little stores that peppered my childhood neighborhood growing up in Akron, Ohio.  I get saddened by the thought that so many American children living in urban areas today do not have easy access to fresh fruits and vegetables that littles stores like these provide.  I remember how we used to play all day long outside as children and never be hungry because neighbors had either apple, plum, raspberry,or pear trees and grape vines we all ate from as we got hungry during the day.  Sigh… I told my daddy that sometimes being here in Chile is like going back in time, but in a very good way.  My childhood was a very happy time that I cherish more each day. :)  I am so grateful for my experiences here in Chile as well as life.  Feeling very blessed and thankful which is apropos since it is the U.S. holiday of  Thanksgiving today.

DSC01197

Guayaba Juice

(Spanish for Guava )

DSC01201

I also saw this guayaba juice in the story today and I have never tried a guave fruit before.  It is my understanding that Guava is an excellent source for Vitamins A and B, providing more Vitamin C than an orange.  It also offers a relatively high Calcium content which is a mineral source not typically found in fruits.  I will report back to latter and let you know how it tastes.  If you do not see an update about it here… that will be because it was as bad and a similar unpleasant surprise as the ¨Tutti Frutti¨ juice I purchased upon my first arrival to Chile.  Here´s hoping for the best! lol

UPDATE

The Guayaba juice tasted good and far better than my Tutti Frutti fail 3 months ago.  Also, in considering it´s nutritional value I think it would be wise to keep it in the ¨libation rotation.¨ 🙂

Leave a Reply

