Una Tarde con Felipe, Mercedes, y el Volantín

Una Tarde con Felipe, Mercedes, y el Barrilete

An Afternoon with Felipe, Mercedes, and the Kite

Kite

Kite1

Hoy Mercedes, quien es la secretaria de la Directora biblioteca, me invitó a ella casa por la cena con su familia.  Después de comiendo nosotros íbamos a el parque permitir Felipe (ella hijo) a demostrármelo cómo volar su volantín.  Como nos caminábamos yo veía, para el primero tiempo, un árbol de anaranjados.

Today Mercedes, who is the secretary of the Director of the Library, invited me to her house for dinner with her family.  After eating we went to the park to allow Felipe (her son)  to demonstrate how to fly his kite.  As we walked I saw, for the first time, an orange tree.

Kite2

Kite3

Los volantínes son un pasatiempo importante en Chile.

Kites are an important pastime in Chile.

Kite4

Le pedí Felipe si él fue un profesional con barriletes y él me dijo, “Mas o menos”,  yo reí. 🙂  Mercedes ayudó su hijo preparar para el vuelo.

I asked Felipe if he was a professional with kites and he told me, “More or less”, I laughed.  Mercedes helped  her son to prepare for the flight.

Kite5

Kite6  Kite8

En el principio, todas estaba bueno pero desafortunadamente, el volantín desplazado demasiado lejos y estaba atrapado en un árbol.  Yo estaba feliz que yo podría obtener el barrilete fuera del árbol por Felipe, pero el próximo evento estaba malo.

Se me rompió el volantín con mi dedo en el viento muy fuerte como caminamos volver a la casa.  Porque lo estaba hecho de papel y se rompió fácil.  Felipe me dijo no preocupada.  Yo sentí terrible.  Yo le pedí el precio y más tarde en el noche dárselo dinero desde los EEUU, como un regala, pero también pagar para el destrucción del volantín.  Yo supe que no fue necesario pero ayudó me sentir mejor.

In the beginning, everything was good but unfortunately, the kite drifted too far and was trapped in a tree.  I was happy that I could get the kite off the tree for Felipe, but the next event was bad.

I broke the kite with my finder in the very strong wind as we walked to return to the house.  Because it was made of paper it broke easily.  Felipe told me not to worry about it.  I felt terrible.  I asked him the price of it and later that night I gave him money from the United States as a gift, but also to pay for the destruction of the kite.  I knew it was not necessary but it helped me to feel better.

Kite9

Cuando nos volvíamos a tomarme a mi habitación, hay un hombre en la calle que estaba entretenido los conductores con palos de fuego.

When we returned  to take me to my place, there is a man in the street that was entertaining motorists with fire sticks. 

2 thoughts on “Una Tarde con Felipe, Mercedes, y el Volantín

    • Thanks Nicole!! I’m glad you enjoyed it and please stay connected as I hope to continue providing wonderful content about Chile and my experiences here. All the best!🙂

Leave a Reply

