Pictures from around Talca, Maule, Chile

Pictures Around Talca, Maule, Chile

Here are some great pictures and short comments related to some recent photos and videos I took in Talca.

DSC00153

I noticed this young man taking a bunch of glass bottles to this receptacle in my neighborhood.  It seems that recycle is an important goal in Talca.

DSC00154

This was a charming little tienda de verduras where vegetable are sold in my neighborhood.  As I approached, I asked a guy nearby if I could take a picture of the store.  He said I had to pay him, yeah I passed on the close-up shot in that instance.

DSC00161

Today was my first trip to El Centro or in other words, downtown Talca where the larger mall is located.  I needed a curling iron and the folks at the mall near my habitación said I would have to find that particular item in El Centro mall.

DSC00162

Entering downtown Talca.

DSC00163

Many portions of downtown Talca seemed very similar to my remembrance of downtown Manhattan in New York City, more particularly the SoHo area.

DSC00164

DSC00166

DSC00167

DSC00168Yay!!  Shopping and browsing time.🙂

DSC00169

Lots of traffic in downtown Talca (El Centro).

DSC00170

DSC00172

Chilean Independence Day is celebrated on September 18th.  The country of Chile secured its independence in 1810 and history records that the area of Talca played a major role in that event.

DSC00173

These young dancers performed in honor of the upcoming September 18th Independence Day Celebration

DSC00174

There are very few public restrooms in Chile which surprised me.  When we were at the bus station in Santiago my new friend Carmila told me, “Use the for-pay restroom, trust me!” I was able to use  el ban pictured above because I was a patron at one of the mall restaurants.

DSC00176Mi cena (dinner).

La mayonesa is a common dressing on food here in Chile.  As you know, yo’ girl and feeling the mayonnaise so I ended up selectively removing portions of my salad to another small plate.:/

DSC00177

I also learned that ice isn’t as common in drinks here as is the case in the United States.  That’s been quite the adjustment as well.  I was happy to have a Sprit with my dinner.  Bottled drinks are served in 1/2 liter bottles versus the 12, 16, or 20 oz. bottles.

DSC00179

Taking a taxi back to La Casa.

DSC00183

Purchased this little change purse to avoid having to always pullout my wallet.  So cute and granny style.🙂

DSC00185

Chocolate doesn’t seem to be as available here as back in the US, however I was so happy to find these familiar friends. :)  They are smaller thank your typical North American candy bar, but most snacks foods appear to be in smaller portions here in general.

DSC00186

La biblioteca (library) isn’t open on Sundays like is common at UGA but there is an area that’s right by the library that is open and has access to WiFi and electrical outlets for laptops.  It’s kinda like a cabin-style smaller version of the MLC (Miller Learning Center) at UGA. :)  Also if you look to the lower left corner of this pic you will see some dog paws.  Dogs roam quite free here.  I don’t who this one belonged to as he was there when I (and the woman in this picture) departed.  He was just laying there chillin’! lol

Leave a Reply

