The People and Culture in Chile

Experiencing the sites, sounds, and making friends in Chile

The People and Culture in Chile

So President Obama, Michelle, Sasha, and Malea have visited Chile in the past and in June of this year, Obama welcomed Chilean President Piñera and his delegation to the Whitehouse.  Here’s a link to the President’s remarks relative to the visit: http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2013/06/04/remarks-president-obama-and-president-pi-era-chile-after-bilateral-meeti

July 21, 2013

El país de Chile en Sur Americano, viene visitar con el país Norte Americano.

Presidente Obama de los Estados Unidos y Presidente Piñera de Chile tuvieron una reunión en El Whitehouse en Washington, DC.

August 3, 2013

I just had a lovely Skype conversation primarily in Spanish with Carmen Gloria Herrera who is the librarian at the Universidad Católica del Maule and also serving as my Chilean hostess while I am a Visiting Scholar in Chile at her institution. I’ve changed my travel plans due to the U.S. State Department’s travel advisory for North Americans but, mostly because I need more time to coordinate all my affairs before I depart. I was so nervous because I believed that I write and read Spanish far better than I speak at this point. However, I was so encouraged when she told me my Spanish was very good!! I’m still going to take my pocket book translator with me and keep it handy just to be on the safe side.

Phrase book

Leave a Reply

