My Research Goal in Chile

UNIVERSITY-OF-GEORGIA                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Proverbs 4:7

Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

The scripture above, from the traditional KJV, is one of my favorite proverbs and will serve as the touchstone for my dissertation research in Chile.  I will be documenting my research journey via this blog site and I hope you will enjoy and learn from my experiences.  You are welcomed to leave your comments at anytime.  I will try to be expeditious in responding to your posts.🙂

0629131846June 18, 2013

Spiral Dynamics Training, Santa Barbara, CA

During the week lasting from June 19th through June 27th, I traveled to Santa Barbara, California to complete my training in Spiral Dynamics.  So I landed in Los Angeles yesterday (June 18th) afternoon and will be here for about a week for Spiral Dynamics Levels 1 & 2 certification. It’s weird trying to adjust to the time difference as its 3:22am here and I’m up blogging. My body thinks it is almost 7am. Yeah, I’m going back to sleep!

July 12, 2013

So I have completed my Spiral Dynamics certification training for Levels 1 & 2 and  above you can see my certificates of attendance.  Spiral Dynamic Theory (SDT) as a theoretical framework is being used in my research to examine levels of civic engagement within the complex contexts associated with public and private for-profit gradate-level adult learning.  My research also explores the use of memetic science which is the theory and study holding that mental contents of culture operate analogous to Darwinian evolution.  SDT is an open-ended theory based on the work of psychologist Clare W. Graves whose “emergent cyclical level of existence theory” (ECLET)  held that as adults are faced with increasing degrees of life conditions and problems their worldviews are impacted such that they can respond to those problems through advancing biopsychosocial neurology.  My research holds that  Memes (the products of memetics) influence these worldviews and also influence adults existential realities. 

In essence, adults’ coping systems are open to increasing levels of complexity and they have the unlimited potential to develop ways of responding to emergent life complexities.  It’s also important to note that Graves held that change was not inevitable and that adults can live the totality of their lives centralized within a particular worldview or level  which Chris Cowan and Don Beck term as a vMEME (i.e., Value Meme).  So my training and certification in Santa Barbara served to augment the research and study I’ve had to date relative to Gravesian theory (ECLET) and Spiral Dynamics.

July 19, 2013

So I’m looking for recording equipment to take with me to Chile to capture my research data. Here’s my test using the Sony Bloggie Touchscreen digital recording device. I’m thinking probably a yes on this purchase. It’s smaller than an iphone and has the capacity to directly upload to my YouTube and Facebook pages via a WiFi connection. I must say I’m very impressed with the “Bloggie” right now.🙂

July 20, 2013

University of Georgia Doctoral Candidate and Novice Blogger. Enjoy!

July 31, 2013

Got my IRB – It’s a GO!!

ApprovedWhat better way to close out the summer as well as the month of July than getting a notice that your IRB research proposal has been approved!!  Yay!🙂

Leave a Reply

