Instructions not Included

 

Movie: Instructions not Included

I recently watched the cutest award winning bilingual movie, “Instructions not Included“.  But in Netflix its titled here in Chile was changed to “No se Aceptan Devoluciones“, which is interpreted “No Refunds Accepted”. Some of our common North American language expressions are simply not transferable or hold the same meaning in another context (in my case a Chilean context).

Most North Americans would get the nuance of the suggested idea of instructions not included, as a pun.  However,  here in Chile  that expression simply does not hold the same meaning hence, why I am imagining, the title change.

These different types of realities I’m learning here fascinate me and are expanding the way I view the world.   Nevertheless, thank God for hugs, laughs and smiles, they’re pretty universally understood. 😉

Leave a comment